Difference between ‘ideal’, ‘idle’, and ‘idol’ (Lesson-50)

Hello, friends!
My name is Snehal. I welcome you on my podcast channel where you can learn a lot about English grammar and vocabulary. Today we are going to talk about the difference between ‘ideal’, ‘idle’ and ‘idol’. Be careful while using these words because they create a lot of confusion. Therefore, without wasting much time, let’s deep dive into it.

  1. Ideal is an adjective as well as a noun. Its meaning is perfect or a standard of perfection, beauty or excellence. This word is spelled as I-D-E-A-L.
    Examples: Swami Vivekananda is an ideal for me. / For lots of people, the US and Canada are ideal countries. / We think about an ideal friend during our lives.
  2. Idle is an adjective which means not working, unemployed or not active. It is also a verb. This word is spelled as I-D-L-E.
    Examples: In companies, the management should use idle machines. / Do something productive during lock-down, don’t be so idle. / This pandemic idled so many people around the world.
  3. Idol is a noun which means an object of worship or an object of extreme devotion. This word is spelled as I-D-O-L.
    Examples: Elon Musk is an idol of millions. / Marble idols are very famous in the world. / Ganesh idols are worshiped in India.

Well, I hope you enjoyed today’s podcast. My objective is each of you should add something valuable everyday related to English. Just keep practicing and revising. You will learn a lot within a short time period. Kindly hit a like button if you find this podcast useful. The written description of this podcast will be there in the description segment. I will see you tomorrow, till then bye and take care!

Podcast link: https://anchor.fm/snehalhedau/episodes/Difference-between-Ideal–Idle-and-Idol–Lesson-50-ee5uef

Leave a comment