Difference between words: Borrow and Lend (Lesson-28)

Hello, friends!
My name is Snehal and today we are going to talk about difference between two words. Some people make mistakes when they use this word pair. These two words are: Borrow and Lend. Listen to the podcast till the end in order to get rid of the confusion. So, without wasting much time, let’s deep dive into it.

The word “borrow” is a verb. Its past tense is “borrowed” and past participle is also “borrowed”. The definition of this word is “to take something from someone for a short period of time with the intention of returning to its owner. Let’s see some examples:
1. I lost my smartphone on my way to the college. Could I borrow yours for a few minutes, please?
2. Can I borrow your sports bike for a minute, please?

The word “lend” is a verb. Its past tense is “lent” and past participle is also “lent”. The definition of this word is “to give something from someone for a short period of time with the intention of returning to its owner. Let’s see a few sample sentences:
1. The financial institution lent him some money to boost the condition of his home.
2. Could you lend me your pen for a while? I don’t know where mine is.

There is a subtle difference between these two words. Therefore, sometimes, it creates confusion in the mind of people. The big question is how to remember the difference. There is a simple trick. “Lend” or “Lent’ means to loan. This simple trick will work every time. I hope you enjoyed today’s podcast. The blog link will be there in the description segment. I will see you tomorrow. Till then bye and take care.

The podcast link: https://anchor.fm/snehalhedau/episodes/Difference-between-Borrow-and-Lend-Lesson-28-ed80jp

Leave a comment