Difference between ‘say’ and ‘tell’ (Lesson-29)

Hello, friends!
My name is Snehal and today we are going to talk about two words. And these two words are ‘say’ and ‘tell’. Lots of people make some mistakes using these words. I will try my level best to explain these words as simple as possible. So, without wasting much time, let’s deep dive into it.

First talking about the word ‘say’, it is a verb, its past tense is ‘said’ and past participle is also ‘said’. “Say” or “Said” is used to express something when the object or receiver is not mentioned.
For example: Wrong: She wants to say something to you / Right: She wants to say something.
Wrong: What do you want to say to me? / Right: What do you wan to say?

Now, talking about the second word “tell’, it is also a verb. Its past tense is told and past participle is told as well. “Tell” or ”told” is used to express something when the object or receiver is mentioned.
For example: Wrong: She wants to tell something. / Right: She wants to tell YOU something.
Wrong: What do you want to tell? / Right: What do you want to tell ME?

There is a simple trick when we use these two words. If you have an object or a receiver, you should use TELL. If you don’t have an object or a receiver, you should use SAY. See the comparison between sentences.
1. I would like to say nothing about your behavior.
2. I would like to tell you / him / her something about my behavior.

From above examples, it is clear how to use say and tell. I hope this is as clear as crystal to all of you. The link of the written description will be there in the description segment. I will see you tomorrow, till then bye and take care.

The podcast link: https://anchor.fm/snehalhedau/episodes/Difference-between-say-and-tell-Lesson-29-ed91bc

Leave a comment